Plein air day

Welcome to the Small Side Gallery, my space for posting small paintings designed especially for little places.

I’ve recently hooked up with a site called “Daily Paintworks”.  Daily Paintworks is a site where artists can post paintings for sale.  To see some of the little paintings I’ve posted there……. click here!  If in the process of visiting my new DPW gallery you discover something you like, you can purchase the piece through DPW (through Pay Pal) or you can contact me through this site directly. I’ve reduced all prices on my DPW for the Christmas season and the shipping is free.

(Don’t forget to check out the “Little Things” at the bottom of this post!)

9×12 untitled oil from Clear Creek 12/7/2011

A few years ago, as winter set in, I had this uncomfortable feeling we’d never see another Spring. I’m not sure why but I was dead sure warm weather had been taken off the list and it was going to be winter until the end of time.

Do I like winter?   No!   Do I love painting snow?   Oh hell yes!   That’s why days like today are a such a bonus. We had 42 degrees, no wind, no clouds and enough light to fill even the greatest skeptic with hope of Spring. That would be me I suppose. But hey! We’ve only got a couple of weeks until the days start getting longer.

The winter solstice, Dec. 22 this year, should be a national holiday. I’m thinking parades, noise makers, confetti, ticker tape, convertibles and babes in bikinis. Oh yeah, and a margarita in each hand. Let’s not drop that ball in New York on New Years Eve. Let’s drop the thing on Dec. 22 when the real change occurs. And let’s not forget to appreciate that extra minute or two of sun light every day as the long wait till spring begins!

So I took today what I could get. And it wasn’t half bad.

Below is the “Little Thing” for today:

*

It’s the same thing

every year as winter comes,

I wish for spring

Leave a Reply

